Traversing Mt. Manunggal to Mt. Mauyog: What It Feels Like Facing The Storm?

I’m always interested in the mystique of mountains and wilderness. I feel the great gush of victory upon reaching the summit. I’ve always been attracted to mountains, as if the Mountains and I have an intimate relationship. I cannot imagine a more perfect day where the sun plays hide and seek behind the clouds as there is a gentle breeze in the air, as green trees and beautiful flowers are dancing  like they’re more acquiescent to the way they have to live than other things do.

Yet, people occasionally asked me WHY I CLIMB? And my answers is always like this “WHY DON’T YOU CLIMB?”

5

But this experience was different, we climbed two mountains with an angry weather for the first time! I was in a doubt at first because of the non-stop rain. Maybe the soil is too soft, grasses and other beautiful things in the mountains were wet and crag, we might not be able to reach that summit (it’s dangerous).

12714006_1002194239829916_1918989564_n

9

8

Keenness never left us and we swept away all the fears because when you climb, nothing else matters. We have sparks that ignites inside us to climb no matter how angry the weather was (but deep inside me, I was praying).

We continued on what we’ve started, high hopes and enthusiasm continued to strengthen us thinking that “we will reach that peak”. Frigid weather did not stop us because we are also burning to reach the peak. We even see our breaths when we talk (because of the bone-chilling temperature) and act like a cloud-breathing dragons. We only expel carbon dioxide and not a fire since we’re not real dragons but we’re burning to reach the summit!

6
Mt. Manunggal
4
Mt. Mauyog

It is usually an achievement to reach the peak, both physical and mental, and the trust and friendship build with the people who doesn’t just come along for the ride, but often literally ties their life to yours, even if the climb last only for a few hours. Why wouldn’t you? And I tell you again, we did reached the summit! So I defy the sometimes fear that this subconscious manifests on me and instead use it to enjoy myself and for us. I’m sure, I’m not the only one who got terrified of the frigid weather.

3713111

The thick fogs brings us unexpected clarity and when you go through that layer of clouds, alone and far from anyone, inner peace stirs within us. And everyone has a different path in life and have different understanding but mine climbs through and among the mountains and deep into the nature that grows in a vigorous ways below the valleys.

We almost blown away by the strong wind, but, we finally got some good weather.

“When all is said and done, the weather and love are the two elements about which one can never be sure.”
Alice Hoffman, Here on Earth

NOTE: All pictures are not mine (I grabbed some from my friends).

Click the link for the video by http://www.chasingpotatoes.com:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w72GUpPO6pM&feature=player_embedded

2 thoughts on “Traversing Mt. Manunggal to Mt. Mauyog: What It Feels Like Facing The Storm?

Leave a Reply

